Skip to main content

2018 John P. Gleason, Jr. Leadership Award announces winners

Published by , Editorial Assistant
World Cement,

Steve Minshall, Lori Tiefenthaler, and Gina Lotito have been recognised at the Portland Cement Association’s (PCA) annual leadership awards. The John P Gleason, Jr. Leadership awards are a distinguished honour in the cement industry, awarded to those who lead the cement industry’s advancing programmes and initiatives. The awards are named after John “Jay” Gleason, who was PCA President from 1986 until his retirement in 2007.

“The Gleason Awards are a unique industry honour,” said Tom Chizmadia, Gleason Award Selection Committee Chairman and Lehigh Hanson Inc. Senior Vice President of Government Affairs and Communications. “They are an excellent way to show appreciation for individuals who have raised the bar on leadership and commitment to have a positive impact on our industry and its future.”

The awards recognise exemplary efforts in business continuity, market development, and young leaders.

Steve Minshall, Corporate Director of Safety and Health at Ash Grove Cement Co., won the business continuity category, awarded for contributing to the support of business operations, such as advocacy, research, standard settings, and health and safety. Having served on the PCA Occupational Health and Safety Committee for two decades, Minshall is a strong safety leader. He has implemented multiple initiatives in pursuit of the common goal of safety. Runners up in this category were Brett Lindsay, Environmental & Energy Manager at Salt River Materials Group, and Steve Wilcox, Cement Technical Director, Argos US.

First place in the market development category was awarded to Lori Tiefenthaler, Senior Director of Marketing at Lehigh Hanson Inc. This prize honours those who help to shape a competitive marketplace through national and regional marketing promotion, imagining and branding, federal and local advocacy, codes and standards, and work with academia. Tiefenthaler launched, a joint project between PCA, American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) and National Ready Mixed Concrete Association, better aligning the missions of these associations. She also improved connections and outcomes for cement and concrete industries, with the federal and state departments of transport and academia, when she served on the executive board for the National Concrete Consortium. Bill Asselstine, Vice President of Sustainability at St. Mary’s Cement/VCNA, and David Gray, Market Manager of GCC of America, were also finalists in this category.

Finally, Gina Lotito, Vice President of Energy and Environmental at GCC of America, was given the Young Leaders Award, recognising those who show high potential for success and a strong commitment to PCA and the cement industry. An active member of the PCA Environment and Energy Manufacturing Subcommittee, Lotito previously served on the Sustainable Development Committee. She has promoted the use of clean alternative fuels for cement production, and supported federal advocacy efforts to lower regulatory barriers for using such fuels under the Non-Hazardous Secondary Materials Rule. Finalists in the Young Leaders category were Ed Griffith, Vice President of Sales and Marketing, St Mary’s Cement/VCNA, and Adam Posly, Production Manager at LafargeHolcim US.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

US cement news PCA news Cement news 2018