Skip to main content

Details of fourth Klaus Dyckerhoff prize announced

World Cement,

Dyckerhoff has announced details of the fourth Klaus Dyckerhoff Prize, which will be awarded in appreciation of ‘pioneering contributions to research or professional achievements in the invention and/or development of application or manufacturing processes in the field of hydraulic binders’.

The prize – an endowment of €30 000 – will be given exclusively on the recommendation of third parties. It is open to individuals and working groups falling under the following categories:

  • European universities.
  • Research departments of scientific and technological institutes of the construction and building materials industry.
  • Research departments from the construction and building materials industry.

The prize will be awarded for exceptional individual work, in particular by young researchers with or without a doctorate, or long-term achievement in the field of building materials research.

The prize is focused on rewarding research in the following:

  • Material interaction between the manufacturing process and the use of hydraulic binders.
  • Increases in energy and material efficiency of cement-based constructions.
  • Innovative development in the extraction of raw materials and preparation of cement and Portland cement clinker, in particular in the burning and grinding process.
  • The development of new areas of application for proven as well as newly developed hydraulic binders.

Nominations should be made by 31 May 2013 and should come from holders of relevant chairs in European universities, the directors of scientific and technological institutes in European associations of the construction and construction material industry, and the directors of the research departments of European cement companies.

The awards ceremony will take place at the 7th International VDZ Congress this September.

Nominations should include the following documents:

The nominated scientific work along with the letter of recommendation from the nominator, CV, list of publications as well as degree and, if applicable, doctorate of the candidate, or a detailed CV with a description of the individual positions and scientific merits of the nominee in the field of construction material research, justification of the nomination and two further letters of recommendation for the candidate.

The Foundation’s board of trustees will award the prize based on a corresponding recommendation from the Foundation’s jury. Five copies of the nomination should be sent to the following address: Dres. Edith und Klaus Dyckerhoff Foundation, c/o Verein Deutscher Zementwerke e. V., Tannenstrasse 2, 40476 Duesseldorf, Germany.

Adapted from press release by Katherine Guenioui.

Read the article online at:


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):