Skip to main content

DuPont’s Safety and Sustainability Awards will be open to companies worldwide

Published by
World Cement,

DuPont’s 2015 Safety and Sustainability Awards will be open to companies worldwide, rather than just those in the Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) region.

“Over the last decade, the DuPont Safety and Sustainability Awards have become widely recognised among industrial companies as a benchmark for workplace safety and sustainability,” said James R. Weigand, President of DuPont Sustainable Solutions. “More importantly, they have helped to promote initiatives aimed at saving lives and protecting the environment.”

DuPont Sustainable Solutions is now soliciting applications for the 2015 awards, which will be judged by a jury drawn from a range of respected safety, health and environment organisations. The company is accepting application forms until 1 February 2015. Complete entries, including a summary of the project, must be received by 27 February 2015.

Since its launch in 2002, the bi-annual competition has attracted a growing number of applicants, with entries for 2013 increasing nearly 50% over those in 2011. Last year’s entries came from a wide range of industry sectors across EMEA, including the UK, Germany, Saudi Arabia, Kazakhstan, Turkey, France, the UAE and Italy.

DuPont is creating a new category for the awards this year – Operational Excellence. “The addition of this category acknowledges the strong correlation between operational performance and corporate footprint reduction,” said Brian Rains, Global Practice Leader for Operations Excellence. “Safety and sustainability improvements cannot be executed in a vacuum, but rather in concert with operational improvements.”

The DuPont Safety and Sustainability Awards competition welcomes entries from all companies or organisations that can demonstrate significant achievements in one of the following three categories: safety, sustainability or operations excellence. Regional winners in each category will be announced in May 2015, and the global winner will be announced at the award ceremony in September 2015. Awards will be judged on criteria including management commitment, cultural evolution, performance improvement, innovation and stakeholder engagement. Winners will receive a trophy and a certificate at the award ceremony. 

For more information on the awards, please visit the website.

Adapted from press release by Rosalie Starling

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Optimisation 2020

Optimisation 2020 provides a unique online forum for cement industry professionals to hear first-hand from experts through a series of exclusive presentations from cement producers and industry experts.

Find out more and register for the series »



World Cement Spotlight with Rockwell Automation

World Cement Editor, David Bizley, sat down with Michael Tay, Advanced Analytics Product Manager at Rockwell Automation to discuss his recent article in World Cement.

Entitled ‘Smooth Sailing’, this article explains how machine learning can help save energy, reduce downtime and predict equipment failures, thus enabling the smooth running of cement plant operations.

Watch the interview now »


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):