Skip to main content

NSSGA changes awards schedule

Published by , Assistant Editor
World Cement,

In an effort to recognise the excellent work of the people in the aggregates industry at an even higher level, and to better connect that recognition with its advocacy for the aggregates industry, the presentation of some of the NSSGA’s annual Awards of Excellence will now take place at the association’s new Fall Board of Directors Meeting and Legislative and Policy Forum in 2017.

“Advocacy remains job No. 1 for NSSGA and what better way to ‘walk our talk’ than to recognise the excellent operations and high achievers in the aggregates industry in a way that will clearly demonstrate our dedication to the communities we serve, sustainable practices and above all else, safety, to policymakers in Congress and regulatory agencies like MSHA,” said Michael W. Johnson, NSSGA president and CEO.

The new pattern for the presentation of NSSGA awards will be instituted in 2017.

The Awards of Excellence in Community Relations, the Barry K. Wendt Commitment Award and the James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year Award will still be presented at the association’s Annual Convention.

NSSGA will then present the Awards of Excellence in Safety and Health, the Environmental Excellence Awards and Grassroots Awards at the association’s new event in Fall in Washington, D.C.

To effectively transition to the new pattern, awards in the Safety Excellence and Corporate Sterling Safety categories will actually be presented twice in 2017.

Adapted from press release by

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):