Skip to main content

CEMEX Building Award 2021 winners are announced

Published by , Deputy Editor
World Cement,

After a year of suspension due to the pandemic, 406 entries of the Mexico Edition participated in the CEMEX Building Award 2021, with 21 being recognised in their respective category and/or Special Awards.

The International Edition received 51 finalist project entries from 15 countries: Germany, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Spain, France, Guatemala, Israel, Mexico, Montenegro, Nicaragua, Panama, Poland, and the Czech Republic.

The jury for this edition was made up of 17 renowned architects and engineers from six countries: Mexico, Puerto Rico, Colombia, the United States, the United Kingdom, and the Dominican Republic. This jury evaluated the candidate projects for the construction and architecture processes and solutions used, the incorporation of sustainability to the buildings, and the value these buildings generate for present and future societies.

The CEMEX Building Award comprises five categories and four special awards that recognise the most acclaimed architecture and construction projects in Mexico and worldwide.

International Winners by Category:

Residential Housing

Casa Piedra Acapulco

Acapulco, Mexico

Affordable Housing

Corazón de Tierra

Merida, Mexico


Tortosa Courts

Tortosa, Spain

Collective Space

Teleclub with Thermal Mattresses

Noviercas, Spain


Damping works for storm drainage in the Metropolitan Area of San Salvador San Salvador, El Salvador

Winners of International Special Prizes

Universal Accessibility

Centro de Danza y Coreografía del Valle, CDCV

Cali, Colombia

Sustainable Construction

Academy of Fine Arts* Cetinje, Montenegro

Pool and Pavilion at Oak House School* Barcelona, Spain

*Tied vote

Innovation in Construction

Mexican Baseball Hall of Fame

Monterrey, Mexico

Social Value

Vera Angelita School

San Ramon, Nicaragua

Mexico Winners by Category

Residential Housing

Casa Piedra Acapulco

Acapulco, Guerrero

Affordable Housing

Corazón de Tierra

Merida, Yucatan


Silkworm Sanctuary

San Pedro Cajonos, Oaxaca

Collective Space

Reflection Space

Monterrey, Nuevo Leon


Bridge No. 4 at kilometer 32+000 of the Toluca to Naucalpan highway Estado de Mexico

Winners of Mexico Special Prizes

Sustainable Construction

ESTOA – University of Monterrey

San Pedro Garza Garcia, Nuevo Leon

Innovation in Construction

Mexican Baseball Hall of Fame Monterrey, Nuevo Leon

Social Value

“Señor de Tula” Sanctuary

Jojutla, Morelos

As is the tradition with each CEMEX Building Award ceremony, the ‘Lorenzo H. Zambrano’ Prize recognised the trajectory and impact of great personalities in the fields of architecture and construction, whose work is significant and memorable for Mexico and internationally.

The 2021 ‘Lorenzo H. Zambrano’ Prize was granted to Engineer Roberto Meli Piralla, of Italian origin, in recognition of his work outside his country, with an excellent career and countless projects carried out worldwide.

During the ceremony, CEMEX recognised the winner of the 2021 ‘Architect Marcelo Zambrano’ Scholarship, awarded to Architect Paola Tovar Luján, a graduate of the National Autonomous University of Mexico. She is already studying for her master's degree in Architecture and Urban Design at the Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) in the Netherlands.

For 15 years, through the ‘Architect Marcelo Zambrano’ Scholarship, CEMEX has fostered the development of young, recently graduated architects whose academic and professional work shows enormous potential to contribute decisively and innovatively to the progress of the construction culture and design in Mexico.

The CEMEX Building Award recognises the talent and vision of architects and engineers who design sustainable buildings for the benefit of present and future generations. Since 1991, the Building Award has established itself as one of the most relevant competitions in architecture and construction.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Cemex news