Skip to main content

Health and safety wins the day

Published by , Editor
World Cement,

The British Safety Council has launched its 56th annual International Safety Awards, which will recognise an organisation’s commitment to health and safety management during the 2013 calendar year. The awards are open to organisations of all sizes and across all sectors, and to both members and non-members of the British Safety Council.

In 2012, 470 organisations won an International Safety Award, including Aston Martin Lagonda, Barclays, Bolton Wanderers Football Club, Delhi International Airport, Kier Construction, Kuwait Oil Company, Notting Hill Housing Group, United Biscuits and the University of Edinburgh – to name but a few.

“The International Safety Awards recognise those organisations from around the globe that have shown a real commitment and dedication to keeping their workplaces and workers healthy and safe,” explains Alex Botha, British Safety Council chief executive. “By winning an International Safety Award, an organisation can enhance its reputation among employees, customers and shareholders, publicise its achievements in managing health and safety, and encourage other businesses around the world to strive to ensure that no one is injured or made ill at work.”

As well as company awards, there are also two awards that recognise individual performance: the Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for non-health and safety personnel over the age of 21, and the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for non-health and safety personnel aged 16 – 21.

Applications for all awards are completed online, by visiting The closing date for applications is 21 February 2014. A team of independent chartered health and safety professionals will then assess the applications to decide whether they meet the required standard, and determine whether the application deserves a pass, merit or distinction.

Adapted from press release by


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):