Skip to main content

MPA launches 2022 Health and Safety Awards

Published by , Deputy Editor
World Cement,

The Mineral Products Association (MPA) is calling for entries to the 2022 Health and Safety Awards. Entries are welcomed from MPA Members and those working closely with them.

Organisations working within the supply chain of the mineral products industry are encouraged to submit an entry to one or more of the eight Topic Awards. Introduced last year, the eight Topics Awards have been designed to cover the different stages and activities within the lifecycle of the value-added products and services provided by the mineral products industry: from the quarry face, processing, and manufacturing through to delivery at the customer’s site, a construction site or on highway.

The new categories build on the success of the long established and highly acclaimed MPA Health and Safety Awards. Over the years, they have played a pivotal role in preventing serious injuries and fatalities within the mineral products industry. The awards enable the industry to learn about and share the innovations and good practices that improve health, safety, and wellbeing in the workplace. Many of the entries highlighted in the awards from previous years have now been widely adopted across the mineral products industry.

Nigel Jackson, MPA Chief Executive said: “Over the last two years, we have updated the Health and Safety Award Scheme to make it easier for companies to submit their entries and encourage even greater participation.”

“The sharing of knowledge about the good practices and innovations will help us all to make our industry a safer and healthier place for everyone. It is also important to recognise the outstanding performance that individuals and organisations have made on our journey towards ‘Vision Zero’.”

“I would urge you to share your achievements in health and safety by entering the awards – we are all Safer by Sharing’.”

The awards include the following categories:

Eight Topic Awards – recognising health & safety innovations at different stages of activity within the production and distribution of mineral products – open to all.

‘The Fatal 6’ Award – recognising an exceptional innovation or good practice to eliminate a high consequence hazard associated with ‘The Fatal 6’ by an MPA member.

The Eurobitume Award – recognising an exceptional innovation or good practice involving bitumen/asphalt or contract surfacing by an MPA member.

John Crabbe Award – for a MPA member with over 250 employees which has achieved an outstanding performance in health & safety.

Sir Frank Davies Award – for an MPA member with 250 or fewer employees which has achieved an outstanding performance in health & safety.

Young Leader Award – for an MPA member wanting to recognise the leadership or outstanding contribution shown by an individual/s aged under 30, in driving forward changes in their organisation to make it a safer and healthier place to work.

Individual Awards – for an MPA member wanting to recognise the contribution made by an individual/s in making their organisation a safer and healthier place to work.

Read the article online at:

You might also like

Cement sector welcomes UK CBAM proposal

Government proposals for a UK carbon border adjustment mechanism (CBAM) have been welcomed by the UK cement industry but it needs to happen sooner than 2027.


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

European cement news