Skip to main content

CEMEX announces winner of 2020 Architect Marcelo Zambrano Scholarship

Published by , Deputy Editor
World Cement,

CEMEX has announced that Gonzalo Mendoza Morfin is the winner of the 2020 Architect Marcelo Zambrano Scholarship.

The architecture student is a graduate of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM) and is currently pursuing his postgraduate degree in ‘History and Critical Thinking’ at the Architectural Association School of Architecture in the United Kingdom.

The deliberation of the call was in charge of the Scholarship Council, made up of seven prominent Mexican architects: Alejandro Rivadeneyra, Augusto Quijano, Aurelio Nuño, Diego Ricalde, Javier Sánchez, Jimena Hogrebe and Mauricio Rocha.

The scholarship winner was selected remotely in July during which the members of the council thoroughly reviewed the 45 applications received during the call.

The scholarship consists of financial support for tuition and maintenance so that architecture students can carry out their postgraduate studies abroad. The validity of financial support has a maximum duration of two years.

Gonzalo Mendoza is a 29-year-old Mexican architect who, in addition to studying his master's degree, works as a teacher at his Alma Mater, UNAM. He is also responsible for special cultural projects within the same Faculty of Architecture of the institution.

"Choosing a profile like Gonzalo's, due to his experience and interests, is important today because we are facing global situations in which it seems essential to have critical professionals who dare to propose new possibilities for architecture", said Architect, Jimena Hogrebe, Member of the Scholarship Council.

For 13 years, through the Architect Marcelo Zambrano Scholarship, CEMEX has fostered young, recently graduated architects, whose academic and professional work demonstrates the enormous potential to contribute decisively and innovatively to the progress of the construction culture and design in Mexico.

Architect, Marcelo Zambrano, was Chairman of the Board of Directors of CEMEX. His business vision marked the beginning of developing one of the most important cement companies in the world.

Previous winners of the scholarship are Juan Benavides, who is still doing his postgraduate studies in the Netherlands, and Frida Escobedo, who in 2018 was the first Mexican architect to design the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion. Other architects awarded with the scholarship are Juan Carral, founder of the JC Arquitectura studio, Diego Ricalde, teacher of the Catedra Blanca CEMEX at the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City and co-founder of the MMX architecture studio, as well as judge Jimena Hogrebe, winner of the scholarship in 2009.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

Cemex news