Skip to main content

CEMEX launches call for the Marcelo Zambrano scholarship

Published by , Deputy Editor
World Cement,

CEMEX has announced the opening of the registration process to win the Architect Marcelo Zambrano Scholarship, aimed at Mexican architects. For 16 years, the scholarship has been the most comprehensive support in Mexico to pursue a postgraduate degree in architecture at a top international university. It consists of 1 million Mexican pesos financial aid per year for tuition and expenses. The validity of the support has a maximum duration of two years.

.With this scholarship, CEMEX reiterates its commitment to continue contributing to architecture development in Mexico, encouraging and promoting young architects in their specialisation.

Those interested can register for the contest online through

The requirements to participate are to be a Mexican citizen, be a graduate of architecture, and be accepted into a prestigious international university to carry out a postgraduate degree with a maximum duration of two years.

To complete the registration, applicants must send documents, such as curriculum vitae, an essay explaining their choice for that graduate degree and that academic institution, a portfolio, two letters of recommendation, a letter of acceptance from the university, a professional title, and birth certificate. This material is reviewed by the Scholarship Council, which is made up of seven renowned Mexican architects: Alejandro Rivadeneyra, Augusto Quijano, Aurelio Nuño, Diego Ricalde, Javier Sánchez, Jimena Hogrebe and Mauricio Rocha.

The winner will be announced in August 2022 and will have to commit to return to Mexico and share the knowledge acquired during this experience, contributing to the education of future generations of architects. The Marcelo Zambrano Scholarship has benefited 17 people since its creation. Previous winners of the scholarship are Frida Escobedo, the first Mexican architect to design the Serpentine Gallery Pavilion in 2018; Juan Carral, founder of the JC Arquitectura studio; Diego Ricalde, co-founder of the MMX architecture studio; Aránzazu de Ariño, who designed the Tiny House of Oaxaca, as well as honorary judge Jimena Hogrebe, among others.

Read the article online at:

You might also like


Embed article link: (copy the HTML code below):


This article has been tagged under the following:

US cement news